Search the site >

Aodh Ruadh retain the Mick Shannon title

Under 10 football
26 September 2015

The Mick Shannon under 10 tournament took place in Ballyshannon on Saturday. As ever the tournament drew a high grade of competition and was keenly contested. Ardara, Grange and Glencar Manorhamilton all travelled with two team each. Grange were up first for the hosts in round one of the group stages. Grange were the reigning Mick Shannon champs, but Aodh Ruadh battled well and edged the verdict by two points. Next up were Ardara and this was a game where our defence of Shane Delahunty, Aidan Sweeney and Finn Gallagher really came into their own, thwarting the green and gold attack at every opportunity to see the Ernesiders to a double scores win. The last game of the round robins was against Glencar Manorhamilton. The Leitrim men provided tough opposition in the first half but Aodh Ruadh came good in second half with a more canny display of football. That trio of wins set up a final against Grange and again it was a very competitive encounter where the back line had to be disciplined. In the end a magnificent performance from the midfield pairing of Ryan Daly and Eoghan Kelly helped swing the tie in Ballyshannon's favour and with it the Mick Shannon cup. Aodh Ruadh's attack of Aengus Sweeney, Drew Ryan and Shane McGloin were in fine form throughout the competition and Jack Gallagher caught the eye with his cool and composed brand of football. Elsewhere James Gallagher and Cian McKenna worked their socks off and mopped up a sight of break ball. Aodh Ruadh were well served by keeper Michael Doogan who pulled out a few super stops and used his kick outs well. Joint captains Ryan Daly and Drew Ryan collected the Mick Shannon trophy to great jubilation from players and supporters alike. The junior side played their hearts out throughout, but despite earning a good win came up against some impressive visiting sides. Ardara and Grange contested the junior final with Grange taking victory there. Many thanks to the refs on the day Stephen Ward, Gerard Ferguson, Conor Patton and Niall Murray and thanks as always to the parents for the magnificent spread of food. Thanks also the fantastic crowd up who turned up on the day to cheer the Ballyshannon boys on.

Last modified: Sunday, 24 May 2020 at 3:34pm