Search the site >

Aodh Ruadh do Mick Shannon treble

Under 10 football
Mick Shannon Tournament
23 July 2016

The under 10s had an action packed Saturday with the annual Mick Shannon under 10 tournament being staged in Father Tierney Park and Páirc Aoidh Ruadh. We were pleased to welcome teams from Naomh Bríd and Bundoran and with over 30 players Aodh Ruadh fielded three teams. The senior competition was a very entertaining and hard fought affair with Naomh Bríd reaching the decider with victories over Aodh Ruadh and Bundoran. The hosts victory over Bundoran saw them setting up a final rematch with the Ballintra / Laghey men. The final was an enthralling spectacle with both sides giving it absolutely everything before the final whistle saw an Odhran Gillespie point separating the sides and Aodh Ruadh crowned Mick Shannon champions with captain Eoin Doogan hoisting the Mick Shannon trophy. In the junior competition the two Aodh Ruadh teams gained victories over a brave Bundoran side before meeting in the decider. After another clinker of a final the honours were shared when a last gasp score leveled the game and the respective captains Dara O'Mahoney and Cillian Slevin jointly lifted the Mick Shannon shield. The presentations also saw Darragh Gallagher of Naomh Bríd picking up the award for player of the senior tournament, while Jack McCadden took that award in the junior section. Many thanks as ever to our parents and guardians who once again put on a great spread of food upstairs in the Aras for all the attendees. Thanks also to our refs on the day and Ken Monaghan who looked after the administration

Last modified: Monday, 1 June 2020 at 1:10pm