Search the site >

Aodh Ruadh lose out to St Eunan's in the first encouter of the league

Aodh Ruadh 0-09
St. Eunan's 1-15
Sean Perry reports from Father Tierney Park.

A very strong final twenty minutes by the Letterkenny men saw them run out easy winners against Aodh Ruadh in Fr. Tierney Park on Easter Monday. A Conal Dunne goal late in the first half gave St. Eunan's the edge but Aodh Ruadh minus the injured Niall McCready clawed their way back to level matters early in the second half at 1-4 to 0-7.

It was always going to be a difficult opening fixture for Aodh Ruadh manager, Ciaran Keon but he will have been alarmed at the overall team performance, particularly in the second half.

However, Brendan Kilcoyne's side, with a number of former lynchpins having returned looked very good in the closing stages as they brushed aside the Aodh Ruadh challenge. Aodh Ruadh travel to Dungloe this weekend while St. Eunan's entertain Declan Bonner's Gweedore. The Ballyshannon men will be sweating on the fitness of Michael Ward who sustained a leg injury, Patrick McGrath who strained a calf during the game as well as McCready, Thomas McPhelim, Eamonn O'Donnell and John Muldoon, all of whom are on the injury list.

Aodh Ruadh's championship opponents, Four Masters recorded a precious away win against Naomh Columba by a single point.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
David Greene; James O'Donnell, Conor Gurn, Patrick McGrath; John Gillespie, Michael Gurn, Ciron Whoriskey; Martin Gallagher, Barry Ward; Brian Roper, Michael Ward, Seamus Kane; Pauric Buggy, Damien Conlon, Val Murray.
Shane Ward for Val Murray, Shane McShea for Michael Ward (injured)
St. Eunan's
Tony Blake, Eddie Brennan, Mark Crossan, Brian McDermott; Brendan Roache, Adrian McClafferty, Niall McClafferty; Shane O'Donnell, Kevin Rafferty; David McGinley, Rory Kavanagh, Ciaran Doherty; Conal Dunne, Kevin Winston, Brendan Devenney.
Sean McEwen for Ciaran Doherty.
Aodh Ruadh
Pauric Buggy (0-2, 1 free, 1 "45"), Seamus Kane (0-2), Brian Roper (0-1), Michael Ward (0-1), Michael Gurn (0-1), Val Murray (0-1, free), Shane Ward (0-1)
St. Eunan's
Brendan Devenney (0-6, 5 frees), Conal Dunne (1-2), Kevin Rafferty (0-4), Rory Kavanagh (0-1), Kevin Winston (0-1), David McGinley (0-1)
Jimmy White (Killybegs)
Yellow Cards
Aodh Ruadh
Seamus Kane, James O'Donnell, Patrick McGrath.

Report Filed: 29 March 2005