Search the site >

Senior footballers go down as Ardara finish strongly

Aodh Ruadh 0-07
Ardara 0-14
Sean Perry reports.

When James McHugh set off for Fr. Tierney Park on Saturday last, the Ardara stalward didn't expect he was going to have to pull on the boots to answer his club's call but that's what happened when referee, Connie O'Gara couldn't be located due to a breakdown in communications!

In spite of trailing by four points at the break, Ardara totally dominated the second half of play in Fr. Tierney Park and ran out quite convincing five point winners.

With both sides short a number of first choice regulars, it was Ardara who began brightest, Gareth Concarr showing up well at corner forward to help himself to two early points. However, a Pauric Buggy goal midway through the half gave the home side the lead for the first time but John McConnell's side drove forward again with the excellent Damien Diver directing play and scoring two good points in the process.

Aodh Ruadh finished the half with a flurry of activity however, aided by the breeze, Anthony Boyle latched onto a Buggy pass, beat his man and fired low and left-footed to the net to leave the half-time score Aodh Ruadh 2-05, Ardara 0-7.

The second half was to be a much more one-sided affair, in spite of registering the opening point through a Buggy free, Aodh Ruadh played second fiddle and conceded 10 unanswered points. Strong play from Stephen McHugh, Michael Doherty, Peter McHugh and Diver meant the bulk of the game was played in the Aodh Ruadh half. Concarr showed flashes of great speed to chip in with points as the home side were left sorely missing the influence of Brian Roper, Niall McCready and Michael Ward, absent through injuries and marriage.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
David Greene; Brendan Boyle, Eamon O'Donnell, Jonathan Gallagher; John Gillespie, Martin Gallagher, James O'Donnell; Conor Gurn, Michael Gurn; Gary Gillespie (0-1), Barry Ward (0-1), Pauric Buggy (1-4, 2 frees); Philip O'Reilly, Seamus Kane, Anthony Boyle (1-1).
Martin McGlynn for G. Gillespie.
Conor Curran; Seamus Byrne, Eamon Doherty, Nicholas Maguire; Michael Doherty (0-2), Kevin Byrne, Declan Gallagher, Francis Diver (0-1), Stephen McHugh (0-3); Darren Maguire (0-1), Peter McHugh (0-1), Damien Diver (0-2); Don Earley, Jimmy O'Connell (0-1), Gareth Concarr (0-6, 3 frees).
Martin Sweeney (0-1) for Earley.
Referee: James McHugh (Ardara)
Deputising for Connie O'Gara (Naomh Columba)

Report Filed: 10 May 2005