Search the site >

Aodh Ruadh too strong in Falcarragh

RTE Raidio na Gaeltachta senior football championship
First Round, First Leg.

23 June 2007
Cloughaneely 0-07
Aodh Ruadh 0-13

Aodh Ruadh, Ballyshannon, proved too strong for Senior Championship new boys Cloughaneely in the first leg of their clash at Pairc Naomh Fionnan, Falcarragh on Saturday night last.

They had six points to spare over Cloughaneely who were playing their first Senior Championship game in five years, by virtue of the fact that they had won the Intermediate crown last term.

Having already played three games in the Senior Championship to overcome Ardara in the Preliminary Round, Aodh Ruadh had the momentum and Peter Gallagher's men take the advantage back to Fr Tierney Park for the second leg.

On Saturday night, Barry Mulligan (0-4) and Brian Roper (0-3) top scored against a gallant Cloughaneely side that just didn't have the shooting power of their opponents, who turned on the style in both halves to seal the win.

The tie was still in the balance at half time as Aodh Ruadh led by two (0-6 to 0-4) and indeed it remained this way until the final quarter when the Ballyshannon men pulled clear.

In the first half Brian Roper, Barry Mulligan, Seamus Kane and Michael Ward provided the inspiration to give their side a two-point cushion at the changeover.

After the break, Cloughaneely did well to stay in touch for the duration of the third quarter, but in the closing chapter the 12 times winners showed their experience to stretch their advantage.

Barry Mulligan was again to the fore with Michael Ward and Seamus Kane also finding the range.

Aodh Ruadh will now be clear favourites to advance to the quarter finals with home advantage in leg two.

Vital Statistics
Lee McFadden; Donal Coll, Paddy Doohan, Ciaran Greaney; Kevin Mulhern (0-1), Kevin Scanlon, Michael Lynch; Joe Friel (0-1), Ciaran McFadden; Joe Boyce (0-1), Liam Coyle, Ciaran Scanlon (0-1); Denis Boyle (0-2), John Maguire, Declan McGarvey (0-1).
Aodh Ruadh
David Greene; Darren Drummond, Eamon O'Donnell, Ciron Whoriskey; Conor Gurn, Michael Gurn, Philip O'Reilly; Barry Ward, Stephen Ward (0-1); Brian Roper (0-3), Pauric Buggy, Niall McCready (0-1); Barry Mulligan (0-4), Michael Ward (0-2), Seamus Kane (0-2).
Paddy McBride

Report Filed: 5 June 2007