Search the site >

Termon comeback forces share of the spoils

Senior Football Division 2
13th April 2009
Termon 3-07
Aodh Ruadh 2-10

A exciting game played in wet and slippery conditions, in what has become Termon's temporary home, in Glenswilly, ended in stalemate as Kevin 'Wappa' McMenamin's late effort earned Termon a share of the spoils.

Despite the first chance falling to Termon, goalkeeper Michael Boyle failed to convert a forty five metre kick, the rest of the first half belonged to the Ballyshannon men.

Two Michael Ward points and a suberb goal from Donagh McEntyre, followed by two Garret Blake points had Aodh Ruadh firmly in the driving seat after just sixteen minutes.

It took Termon seventeen minutes to register their first score through Kevin McMenamin, but Aodh Ruadh were rampant and added another two points with Blake and Buggy pointing a free. Another point by McMenamin followed by a suberb point by Daireann Gibson left Termon just five points behind at half-time.

Termon started the second half much brighter and when Johnny McCafferty played the ball across the Aodh Ruadh goal it was brilliantly finished by young Paul McDaid to leave just two points in the game. Another two points by the hard working Pauric Buggy stretched the lead again before another Daireann Gibson point and a '45' by Michael Boyle narrowed the gap again.

A goal by Michael Lawless, followed by a Brian Roper point seemed to put the game out of Termon's reach, but two goals in almost as many minutes by substitute Mark Alcorn left the sides all square. Another point by Buggy had Aodh Ruadh ahead again before a great point by Kevin McMenamin left the teams sharing the points.

Aodh Ruadh may feel disappointed with the point after having so much of the play but Termon's determination to get something out of the match deserved it's reward.

Vital Statistics
Michael Boyle (0-1, 1 '45'); Joe O'Donnell, Jimmy McElwaine, Sean O'Donnell; John Doherty, Paul McDaid (1-0), Paddy McDaid; Ollie Doherty, Jimmy Gallagher; Daireann Gibson (0-2), Brendan Robinson, PJ McFadden; Trevor Alcorn, Johnny McCafferty, Kevin McMenamin (0-4).
Substitutions: Mark Alcorn (2-0).
Aodh Ruadh
Paul Kane; Kerry Ryan, Darren Drummond, Johnny Gallagher; Philip O'Reilly, Michael Gurn, Michael Lawless (1-0); Stephen Ward, Fiachra McIntyre; Pauric Buggy (0-4,1f), Brian Roper (0-1), Donagh McIntyre (1-0); Gareth Blake (0-3), Michael Ward (0-2), Barry Ward.
Substitutions: Anthony Boyle; PJ McGee.

Report courtesy of Donegal News. Report Filed: 17 April 2009