Search the site >

Derby win extends unbeaten record for Ernesiders

Senior Division 3
10 May 2015
Aodh Ruadh 1-10
Naomh Bríd 0-7
Father Tierney Park

Aodh Ruadh extended their unbeaten run to three games with this convincing victory over the neighbours from up the N15.

Conditions weren't great with water lying making for treacherous footing in places. Aodh Ruadh made light of it from the off though, Colm Kelly driving in from the from the right and blasting a shot to the roof of the net from an acute angle

Naomh Bríd were off the mark two minutes later Peter Walsh hooking over from close range. Kelly was instrumental again a couple of minutes later pouncing on a spill to feed Sticky Ward who fired over.

On 11 minutes Daragh Brogan looked sure to net, but his shot came off the crossbar and away. Shortly after Declan McCafferty made no mistake clipping over from close range.

Philip Patton was in fine form in the first half and announced his intent with a fantastic shot from 35 metres out at the end of the first quarter.

The conditions saw play a bit more strung out as the game progressed and this allowed Shane Walsh to race into some rare space in the Ballyshannon rearguard before raking over.

Nevertheless Aodh Ruadh continued to threaten and Naomh Bríd had two close shaves with Pauric McDaid having to be alert to make stops from Eamonn McGrath and Nathan Boyle.

Ballyshannon made their dominance count in the closing moments of the half. First Damien Cleary picked out Philip Patton with a beautiful pass. Patton duly delivered the goods with a fine point

Then Diarmaid McInerney landed a free from 30 metres out before Philip Patton fired over well from out on the right wing into added time. That left the scores 1-5 to 0-3 in favour of the Ernesiders at the interval

There were two minutes gone in the second 30 when fine interlinking play from Aodh Ruadh in front of the Naomh Bríd posts saw Sticky Ward popping over the first score of the half to put six points between the sides.

The sides then went tit for tat for a spell. First Shane Walsh hit a free before Shane McGrath cut through for a fine point. Daragh Brogan then fired over a free only for Colm Kelly to answer with a point from play.

With nine minutes left Naomh Bríd drove dangerously through on the Ballyshannon posts. That threat was ended illegally and Shane Walsh slotted the free. He added another three minutes later to put just four points between the sides with momentum swinging ever so slightly in favour of the Ballintra/Laghey men.

A good time then for sub David Dolan to hoist over a much needed score to settle the homesters. It got better with a minutes left of normal time when Shane McGrath found Colm Kelly who split the posts with a superb shot off the outside of the right boot.

Naomh Bríd battled to the very finish, but the tie was to end with a six point victory for the hosts.

A professional display from Aodh Ruadh in trying conditions which sees the side cement their place at second in the table. The homesters got another solid 60 minutes from Diarmaid McInerney, while Colm Kelly will be very pleased with his 1-2 haul and overall contribution. Damien Cleary was superb again and his pass to pick out the dangerous Philip Patton for a point was one of the moments of the game.

For Naomh Bríd Cian Gallagher soldiered hard, while the loss of Ross Gallagher to a black card in the first half proved a difficult blow for the visitors to absorb.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
Peter Boyle; Mickey Dolan, Conor Patton, Callum 'Cookie' O'Halloran; Colm Kelly (1-2), Eamonn McGrath, Ronan Drummond; Kerry Ryan, Damien Cleary; Phililp Patton (0-3), Diarmaid McInerney (0-1f), David McGurrin; Johnny Gethins, Michael 'Sticky' Ward (0-2), Nathan Boyle.
Substitutes Shane McGrath (0-1) for Johnny Gethins 24m; Anthony Boyle for David McGurrin 39m, Ronan McGurrin for Nathan Boyle 42m, Niall Harley for Kerry Ryan 44m, David Dolan (0-1) for Ronan Drummond 49m Niall Thomas for Philip Patton 61m.
Yellow card: Michael Ward 29m.
Frees conceded: 12.
Naomh Bríd
Pauric McDaid; Conal Rooney, Donal Martin, Gary McCafferty; Clint Walsh, Ross Gallagher, Sam Burgess; Thomas Gallagher, Cian Gallagher; Calum Gallagher, Shane Walsh (0-4, 3f), Darragh Brogan (0-1f); Owen Harron, Declan McCafferty (0-1), Pete Walsh (0-1).
Substitutes: Dermot Langan for Ross Gallagher (BC) 24m, Miceal Travers for Pete Walsh 46; Tom McAnulty.
Yellow card: Pete Walsh 27m.
Frees conceded: 15.
Referee: Enda McFeeley (Robert Emmet's).

Last modified: Monday, 1 June 2020 at 1:11pm