Search the site >

Buncrana punish mis-firing Aodh Ruadh

Intermediate Reserve Football Championship
24 May 2015
Aodh Ruadh 0-10
Buncrana 4-10
David McLoone reports from Father Tierney Park

Championship started for the reserves at home to Buncrana on Sunday evening. It was the visitors however who came with much more intent on winning this game, which was immediately evident from the throw in as they got off to a powerful start with Kevin Treacy hammering into the net after only two minutes. Anthony Coughlin got the reserves off the mark with a routine free which was followed by a Nicky Sheerin point. That was as close as the sides would get as Buncrana stormed into a commanding lead with a further goal and two points from Treacy along with with four more points from the visitors put them into a 2-6 to 0-4 half time lead, the other Aodh Ruadh scores coming from Coughlin and Dermot Slevin.

Despite having the advantage of the strong wind in the second half, the Erne men simply couldn't get a grip on the game, losing the battles in all areas of the field. The visitors tagged another 1-3, with Treacy again doing the damage in front of goal, during which Aodh Ruadh managed just a single point, in a spell which effectively ended the contest with Buncrana leading at 0-5 to 3-9. Just as there may have been a glimmer of hope when Sheerin and Ryan McKenna both pointed, Buncrana punished with yet another goal. The game petered out from that point, with Niall Thomas, another McKenna point and a free from Slevin offering little consolation for Aodh Ruadh, losing on a score of 0-10 to 4-10. A lot of work needed to recover from this point to progress to the next round.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
Paul Kane, Chris McCabe, Ryan Patton, Eugene Drummond, Oisin Roper, Eddie Lynch, Aiden Murray, Niall Thomas (0-1), David Finnerty, Dermot Slevin (0-2), Nicky Sheerin (0-2), Jason Gallagher, Jamie McDonald, Anthony Coughlin (0-3), Ryan McKenna (0-2).
Substitute R.Granaghan, Brian Roper for Jamie McDonald, Darren Gettins for Eugene Drummond, Jason Granaghan for Chris McCabe, James Barron for Nicky Sheerin, P.Meehan for Eddie Lynch, David McLoone, Raymie Granaghan, Emmett Cheshire..

Last modified: Friday, 29 May 2020 at 3:01pm