Search the site >

Reserves go down fighting in Urris

Senior Reserve Division 3
30 April 2016
Urris 2-16
Aodh Ruadh 3-10
Crampsey Park.

The reserves made their longest trip of the season to Clonmany with just the bare 15. The lads gave a great account of themselves and can point to a few harsh refereeing decisions ultimately being the difference between the sides.

It was tit for tat for the opening quarter, with points from Anthony 'Waddle' Coughlin and Francis McShea keeping the sides tight. However, Urris were awarded a soft penalty when a shot on goal was deemed to have been foot-blocked. The resulting goal and a further few points from the hosts saw them take a healthy half time lead of 1-6 to 0-3, the other point of the half for Aodh Ruadh coming from Ryan Granaghan.

Aodh Ruadh worked hard through the second half and tagged on a few more scores through Ryan Patton and the Granaghan brothers, but were unable to make any real inroads in reducing the gap. That was until Waddle Coughlin banged in the visitor's first goal. However Aodh Ruadh took another body blow when Urris managed to rob possession and slot in their second major despite the visitor's appeal for a foul in the build up. That stretched the host's lead out to seven points. But with great fortitude the lads fought back again, and when Eamon McDonnell palmed in a cross goal pass from Waddle the game was back on.

Further points from Waddle, McShea and Drummond and a volleyed finish from soccer man David Dorrian had the visitors within three points going into the closing stages.

Unfortunately time ran out on the tired travelling 15 and Urris hung on to finish on a winning scoreline of 2-16 to 3-10. Best for Aodh Ruadh were Mickey Dolan and Packie McGrath in defence, Ronan Drummond put in a big shift and Francis McShea was lively on his return to the fold.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
Carl O’Brien; Packie McGrath, Mickey Dolan, David McLoone; Jason Granaghan (0-1), Ronan Drummond (0-1), Ryan Granaghan (0-2); Aidan Murray, Conor Thomas; David Dorrian (1-0), Ryan Patton (0-1), Francis McShea (0-2); Raymie Granaghan, Anthony Coughlin (1-3, 2f), Eamon McDonnell (1-0).

Last modified: Friday, 29 May 2020 at 7:57pm