Search the site >

Winning run comes to an end

Senior Division 3
9 July 2016
Buncrana 1-12
Aodh Ruadh 0-10

Aodh Ruadh's incredible winning run stretching right back to the start of the season came to an end at Scarvey on Saturday evening.

It had started brightly for the Ernesiders with a Diarmaid McInerney free and a Seamus Kane point created by good work from Paddy Gillespie giving them an early advantage.

Buncrana hit back with points from Oisin Doherty and their wing back, but a fine score from Michael 'Sticky' Ward from an acute angle ensured Aodh Ruadh remained in the ascendant.

The hosts pointed again only to have that one answered by another good score from Seamus Kane.

The Inishowen men's other wing back tied the game up at four points apiece, before Paddy Gillespie again edged Ballyshannnon back into the lead with a great point into the wind after a mazy solo run.

Buncrana replied instantly with a point, but Aodh Ruadh continued to set the pace. The next score came with Diarmaid McInerney converting a free after a heavy tackle on Callum O'Halloran.

The hosts kept in touch though, and a 45 by Garvan Friel on the stroke of half-time sent the sides in level at six points apiece.

Four minutes after the restart Buncrana took the lead for the first time in the game thanks to an Oisin Doherty free.

Aodh Ruadh could have answered that score in some style, but Conor Patton sent his shot just wide of the target.

Buncrana turned the screw with a Kevin Treacy point and a free from Oisin Doherty sending them into a one goal lead.

Sticky Ward sent over Aodh Ruadh's first score of the half, but time was starting to run out.

Kevin Treacy restored the hosts one goal advantage with eight minutes left to play, before points from Oisin O'Flaherty and Oran Doherty gave Ballyshannon a real mountain to climb.

A point from Seamus Kane gave the Ernesiders some slim hope, but that was rapidly dashed when a goal from Garvan Friel on the stroke of full time made it 1-12 to 0-8.

Aodh Ruadh added late points from Seamus Kane and Pauric Patton, but when the whistle went Buncrana were deserved winners and Ballyshannon's winning run was ended.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
Karl O'Brien; Michael Ward, Damien Cleary, Callum O'Halloran; Niall Murray, Eamonn McGrath, Paddy Gillespie: Conor Patton, Cian Dolan; Diarmaid McInerney, Michael 'Sticky' Ward; Darren Gethins; Oisin Roper, Seamus Kane Pauric Patton.
Subs: Kerry Ryan for Cian Dolan; Niall Harley for Darren Gethins; Jason Granaghan for Callum O'Halloran.

Last modified: Saturday, 30 May 2020 at 9:46am