Search the site >

Understrength Naomh Colmcille overpowered by Ernesiders

Intermediate Football Championship
28 August 2016
Aodh Ruadh 1-9
Naomh Colmcille 0-2
John Hughes reports from Father Tierney Park

Aodh Ruadh accounted for a hapless Naomh Colmcille outfit in this one-sided intermediate championship encounter in Father Tierney Park.

The first half was pretty much one way traffic, with only the massed weight of Naomh Colmcille's defence and some slack passing in the final third by the hosts keeping the scoring down.

Still, the first point arrived early on with David McGurrin slipping over from close range after just a minute.

After that though, Newtowncunningham rolled out their game plan to full effect frequently having all but one man within their own 65 metre line.

Ballyshannon's second score only arrived after another seven minutes with Philip Patton clipping over after some patient build-up play.

The visitor's only score of the first half arrived a minute later when Michael Lynch fisted over a ball pumped in by Michael Friel. However, aside from two other shots dropped short and a long range free kicked wide by Lynch, that was as much as Naomh Colmcille were to muster in the way of attacking action in the half.

Aodh Ruadh, on the other hand, fashioned a couple of goal opportunities, the first of those coming after 13 minutes. It was created by the speed of Paddy Gillespie, but the shot was thwarted. The ball was worked back through the phases though and steered inside the left post by a delightful Seamus Kane shot to give Aodh Ruadh a two point cushion.

A second goal chance unleashed by Dairmaid McInerney three minutes later was well denied by Gary McDaid, but again the Ernesiders reclaimed possession and had David Dolan on hand to split the posts and put a goal in it.

The last score of the half came five minutes from the short whistle with Diarmaid McInerney becoming Aodh Ruadh's fifth scorer with a 30m free to send Ballyshannon in on the better end of a 0-5 to 0-1 scoreline.

The second half fare wasn't much more appetising as Aodh Ruadh made all the running while Naomh Colmcille resolutely worked to keep the score down.

Indeed the only scoring attempt of note in the first ten minutes of the new half came when Michael Friel was denied by a superb Peter Boyle save.

We had to wait a full 11 minutes for the first score of the new half, with Paddy Gillespie popping over after Aodh Ruadh rapidly moved the ball up the pitch from a free.

Seven minutes later Ballyshannon put two goals between the side after David McGurrin showed great bravery to win a free which Diarmaid McInerney slotted from mid range.

Then Aodh Ruadh turned the Newtowncunningham kick out and worked the ball to Philip Patton who hoisted over a fine effort.

Aodh Ruadh effectively ended the tie as a contest eight minutes from time when Colm Kelly drove into the danger area and flashed a pass over to Conor Patton who rapidly laid off to Diarmaid McInerney who palmed home from a metre out to make it 1-8 to 0-1.

The Ernesiders last score came with a couple of minutes left when Shane McGrath tapped over after one-twoing with Philip Patton.

Ironically the very last action of the game was Naomh Colmcille's second score of the game, Daniel Clarke sticking over a free with last kick of game.

One to forget for Naomh Colmcille with only Michael Lynch having the sort of game he could be happy with.

Not a perfect display from Aodh Ruadh either with a substantial wide count to reflect on, but all the better performances on the day were from players in white and green.

Michael Ward was magnificent in defence, reading play beautifully, while Damien Cleary, Paddy Gillespie and Colm Kelly all showed great energy and versatility. David McGurrin was another who got through a mountain of work up front and the subs all made a significant contributions on their introduction.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
Peter Boyle; Callum O'Halloran, Colm Kelly, Michael Ward; Paddy Gillespie (0-1), Kerry Ryan, Niall Murray; Damien Cleary, Cian Dolan; Philip Patton (0-2), David McGurrin (0-1), Diarmaid McInerney (1-2f); Seamus Kane (0-1), David Dolan (0-1), Michael 'Sticky' Ward.
Subs: Shane McGrath (0-1) for Seamus Kane 30m; Conor Patton for Niall Murray HT; Nathan Boyle for David Dolan 39m; Jason Granaghan for Kerry Ryan 52m; Oisin Rooney for David McGurrin 54m.
Wides: 14.
Frees conceded: 8.
Kickouts won: 12
Own: 1
Opposition: 11
Naomh Colmcille
Gary McDaid; Shane McAleer, Ricky Hegarty, Michael Lynch (0-1); Paul Friel, Stephen Friel, Joe Donaghy; Michael Friel, Daniel Clarke (0-1f); Eddie Gillespie, Willie Lynch, Oisin Hassett; Kelvin Callaghan, Gerard McDaid, Alex Devenney.
Wides: 5.
Frees conceded: 10.
Kickouts won: 6
Own: 6
Opposition: 0
Referee: Tony Gallagher (Red Hugh's)

Last modified: Sunday, 31 May 2020 at 12:50pm