Search the site >

Five star performance sees Ernesiders continue victorious

Senior Division 2
16 April 2017
Aodh Ruadh 5-17
Glenfin 2-12
Father Tierney Park

Back in 2014 a 2-7 to 1-9 victory for Glenfin denied Aodh Ruadh promotion to division two. It was a very different story on Sunday in Father Tierney Park as the sides paired off for the first time since that contentious meeting. An open game, Aodh Ruadh created the lion's share of the chances and came away 5-17 to 2-12 victors to extend their winning start to the season to three games.

A point from Darren Drummond followed by a goal from Shane McGrath shot the hosts into an early 1-1 to 0-2.

Niall Murray pointed before a David McGurrin goal after the 20 minute mark pushed the Ernesiders 2-4 to 0-3 ahead.

Stephen McDermott netted for Glenfin and when they added three further points there was just a point between the sides.

Aodh Ruadh didn't relent though and retaliated with 1-2. Darren Drummond slipped past Liam O'Meara after a flowing move, followed quickly by a point from sub Paddy Gillespie.

Glenfin registered two scores before the break, but at the turnover it was James O'Donnell's men firmly in command, leading 3-6 to 1-8.

The visitors didn't let the margin faze them though and five minutes into the new half it was erased with a quick 1-1. Points were swapped before Aodh Ruadh again took control of matters, hitting a half dozen unanswered points.

The cherry on top was delivered with late goals from Darren Drummond and Shane McGrath sealing a 14 point victory.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
Nathan Boyle; Callum O'Halloran, Damien Cleary, Michael Ward; Jason Granaghan (0-2), Niall Murray, Daniel Warnock; Conor Patton (0-1), David Dolan (0-2); Philip Patton (0-3,2f), Shane McGrath (2-1), Ryan McKenna; David McGurrin (1-3), Darren Drummond (2-2), Seamus Kane (0-1).
Subs: Paddy Gillespie (0-1) for McKenna 26m; Cian McGloin for Warnock 37m; Johnny Gallagher (0-1) for Kane 42m; Eddie Lynch for Granaghan 58m.
Liam O'Meara; Martin O'Donnell, Gary Herron, Daniel McGlynn; David Carr, Paul McCrudden, Paddy O'Connor; Stephen Ward, Michael McGlynn (0-2); Conor Ward (0-1), Ciaran Brady (0-1), Gary Dorrian (0-1); Stephen Carr (0-4,4f), Jason Morrow, (1-1) Kevin McGlynn (0-1).
Subs: Stephen McDermott (1-1) for McCrudden 16m; Matthew McGinley for C Ward 45m; Hugh Foy for S Ward 53m.

Last modified: Sunday, 31 May 2020 at 3:36pm