Search the site >

Reserves romp to points againt Glen

Senior Division 2
29 July 2017
Aodh Ruadh 1-12
Naomh Columba 1-7
John Hughes reports from Father Tierney Park

The reserves made light work of their visitors from Glencolumcille on Saturday evening. A blistering Roscommon style start with two goals and two points saw an early lead open up, Dermot Slevin and Kerry Ryan pointing before a strong solo run was finished off by Ronan Drummond quickly followed by an Anthony 'Waddle' Coughlin goal after collecting his own rebound off the bar. Two frees got the visitors off the mark. A pair of points each from Kerry and Waddle along with scores from Marty Larkin and Rory Cullen saw the hosts go in at the break leading 2-8 to 0-3. Gary Carty got proceedings underway in the second half with a well taken score before the visitors clocked three points in reply. However, Aodh Ruadh powered on with points from David Finnerty and Ronan Drummond restoring the lead. Kerry Ryan found the net in the middle of the half to put the result beyond doubt. The highlight of the game was still to come as player manager Aidan Murray made the bold move of dispatching substitute Brian 'Swampy' Dorrian to the forward line. The move paid immediate dividends as Swampy pointed with his first touch and was to add another two before full time, it might prove hard to get him back to the full back line after that. Murray himself came on for a bit of action and managed a score before the final whistle, the end result was 3-14 to 0-8. A satisfactory performance across all areas of the pitch, with Cian McGloin, Darren Gethins and Ronan Drummond all catching the eye.

Vital Statistics
Aodh Ruadh
Karl O'Brien; Christopher McCabe, Mickey Dolan, Cian McGloin; Ronan Drummond (1-1), Gary Carty (0-1), Mickey McNeely; Kerry Ryan (1-3), Darren Gethins; Ryan McKenna, Cáelán Drummond, Dermot Slevin (0-1f); Martin Larkin, Anthony Coughlin (1-2, 1f), Rory Cullen (0-1).
Subs: David Finnerty (0-1) for Anthony Coughlin, Christopher Goan for Rory Cullen; Thomas Anderson for Chris McCabe; Brian Dorrian (0-3) for Marty Larkin; David McLoone for Gary Carty; Aiden Murray (0-1f) for Cáelán Drummond, Raymie Granaghan.

Last modified: Monday, 1 June 2020 at 12:13pm